Print - Close Window
X-Apparently-To: "The Spirit of King Ollamh Fodhla, Great Banqueting Hall, Hill of Tara" <ollamhfodhla@yahoo.co.uk> via 217.12.10.238; Mon, 17 Mar 2008 11:43:00 +0000
X-YahooFilteredBulk: 217.146.177.12
X-Originating-IP: [217.146.177.12]
Return-Path: <newinngalway@yahoo.co.uk>
Authentication-Results: mta158.mail.ukl.yahoo.com from=yahoo.co.uk; domainkeys=fail (bad sig)
Received: from 217.146.177.12 (HELO web27012.mail.ukl.yahoo.com) (217.146.177.12) by mta158.mail.ukl.yahoo.com with SMTP; Mon, 17 Mar 2008 11:42:59 +0000
Received: (qmail 96647 invoked by uid 60001); 17 Mar 2008 11:42:57 -0000
DomainKey-Signature: a=rsa-sha1; q=dns; c=nofws; s=s1024; d=yahoo.co.uk; h=X-YMail-OSG:Received:Date:From:Subject:To:Cc:MIME-Version:
Content-Type:Content-Transfer-Encoding:Message-ID; b=TjOX/9tOpxU8BPc/YRtNSg1zjKZc4uOG+H2uwkwWpuzi+DB82cB+/YTuP3mkN92Y4SauN0JAIOrdzlyQRuwQXH/5fXo
2HM1PFqKQ5x95OBVSv7wlYWVQ9pxp3lYhQvSd1m/PenK8s4rRX3ES9FHGs8+eRWxgxME3eeT4SHWEmy0=;
X-YMail-OSG: iXYmZYAVM1kaP4HCoguRdRqDtB028v8P51.QAhGTwa.j6t0MSBhuPmCjUqbZWjh5Q2AEsB_zvcbpnWc0.Mn7TO6oIuTWy_kL6
A8ShySTsWvfElCRxuXFSSEsf_C0rrH9CXmQ
Received: from [213.122.25.112] by web27012.mail.ukl.yahoo.com via HTTP; Mon, 17 Mar 2008 11:42:57 GMT
Date: Mon, 17 Mar 2008 11:42:57 +0000 (GMT)
From: "William Finnerty" <newinngalway@yahoo.co.uk>
Subject: Our natural love of justice
To: "Chief Justice John L. Murray" <SupremeCourt@courts.ie>, "Brian Lenihan TD (Minister for Justice, Equality and Law Reform" <Brian.Lenihan@oireachtas.ie>, "Paul Gallagher S.C. (Attorney General, Republic of Ireland)" <info@ag.irlgov.ie>, "Mr James Hamilton (Director of Public Prosecutions, Republic of Ireland)" <dppwebmaster@indigo.ie>, "The Chief State Solicitor (Republic of Ireland)" <contact@csso.gov.ie>, "Guardian of Republic of Ireland Constitution (President Mary McAleese)" <webmaster@president.ie>, "Peter Sutherland (Former Attorney General, Chairman of Goldman Sachs International Bank, Steering Committee Member of the Bilderberg Group, and European Chairman of the Trilateral Commission)" <trilateral.europe@wanadoo.fr>, "Garda Commissioner Noel Conroy (Chief Commissioner of Police, Republic of Ireland)" <comstaff@iol.ie>, "Chief Constable Sir Hugh Orde OBE" <information@nipolicingboard.org.uk>, "Health Minister Mary Harney (Leader of Republic of Ireland's Progressive Democrats Party " <info@maryharney.ie>, "Cardinal SeŠn Brady, Archbishop of Armagh and Primate of All Ireland" <info@catholiccommunications.ie>
CC: "Northern Ireland Health Minister Michael McGimpsey MLA" <private.office@dhsspsni.gov.uk>, "Gerard J Madden (Senior Social Worker, Omagh, County Tyrone, Northern Ireland)" <gmadden@slt.n-i.nhs.uk>, "The Rt Hon Alan Johnson MP, UK Secretary of State for Health" <dhmail@dh.gsi.gov.uk>, "National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence" <nice@nice.org.uk>, "Geraldine Kerr (The Northern Ireland Centre for Trauma & Transformation)" <info@nictt.org>, "Dr Maurice Manning (President of Human Rights Commission, Republic of Ireland)" <info@ihrc.ie>, "The Irish Centre for Human Rights, National University of Ireland, Galway" <humanrights@nuigalway.ie>, "Senator Ivana Bacik, Barrister and Reid Professor of Criminal Law, Criminology and Penology at Trinity College Dublin (TCD) Law School" <ivana.bacik@oireachtas.ie>, "Fianna Fail Party Leader, Prime Minister Bertie Ahern" <taoiseach@taoiseach.irlgov.ie>, "Dr Walter F. Murphy (Professor of Jurisprudence Emeritus at Princeton University)" <wmurphy37@comcast.net>, "Cllr Phillip Cantwell (MCC and Trim TC)" <PCantwell@meathcoco.ie>, "John Pilger (Documentary Film Maker)" <pilgereditor@gmail.com>, "Shauna Gillan (Barrister, Matrix Chambers, London)" <shaunagillan@matrixlaw.co.uk>, "John Reilly (Barrister, Tooks Chambers, London)" <clerks@tooks.co.uk>, "Dr Jimmy Devins TD (Minister of State at the Department of Health and Children)" <info@jimmydevins.ie>, "Crooked-Lawyer Catcher" <lawyercatcher@lawyer.com>, "Northern Ireland Social Security Agency (Reference Disability Case Reference 52-82267 for YH615974D)" <Private.Office@dsdni.gov.uk>, "Nikiforos Diamandouros (The European Ombudsman) Case ref: 1867/2006/IP )" <euro-ombudsman@europarl.eu.int>, "The Registrar, European Court of Human Rights, Council of Europe, Strasbourg. (Re: ECHR Case Reference: 25077/05)" <infopoint@coe.int>, "Prime Minister Gordon Brown MP" <webmaster@pmo.gov.uk>, "Kathy Sinnott MEP, European Parliament Committee on Petitions" <ksinnott@europarl.eu.int>, "Jose Manuel Barroso (Lawyer & President of European Union Commission)" <sg-web-president@ec.europa.eu>, "Marcin Libicki MEP (Chairman of European Parliament Committee on Petitions)" <marcin.libicki@europarl.europa.eu>, "Proinsias De Rossa MEP" <pderossa@europarl.eu.int>, "Mairead McGuinness MEP" <mmcguinness@europarl.eu.int>, "Stavros Dimas (Lawyer, and European Union Commissioner for Environment)" <stavros.dimas@ec.europa.eu>, "John Gormley TD (Green Party Leader & Minister for Environment, Heritage and Local Government)" <john.gormley@oireachtas.ie>, "US Senator Barack Obama (Constitutional/Civil Rights Lawyer & US Presidential Hopeful)" <info@barackobama.com>, "UNESCO World Heritage Centre (WHC)" <wh-info@unesco.org>, "World Monuments Fund" <wmf@wmf.org>, "Europa Nostra, Pan-European Federation for Cultural Heritage (Mrs Sneška Quaedvlieg Mihailoviś)" <sg@europanostra.org>, "Dr Gerard Hogan (Senior Constitutional Lawyer, Fellow, Trinity College, Dublin)" <hogang@tcd.ie>, "Greg Nolan (Lawyer at Patrick Hogan & Co., Ballinalsloe, County Galway, Republic of Ireland)" <greg@phoganandco.com>, "Adrian O' Kane (Lawyer at Patrick Fahy & Co, Omagh.)" <adrian.okane@pfahy.com>, "Gerald Finnerty & Marjorie Dolan (New Inn, County Galway)" <margieandgerald@yahoo.ie>, "European Commission Representation in Ireland" <eu-ie-info-request@ec.europa.eu>, "Willie Corduff, Rossport 5" <info@goldmanprize.org>, "Sir Anthony O'Reilly, Newspaper Proprietor" <independent.letters@unison.independent.ie>, "Fine Gael Party Leader, Enda Kenny" <Enda.Kenny@oireachtas.ie>, "Transparency International Ireland" <info@transparency.ie>, "Jack Straw MP" <lordchancellor@dca.gsi.gov.uk>, "Dr Garrett Fitzgerald (Chancellor of the National University of Ireland)" <registrar@nui.ie>, "Law Society of Ireland" <general@lawsociety.ie>, "Josep Borrell Fontelles (President of the European Parliament)" <webmasterpresident@europarl.eu.int>, "Sinn Fein Party Leader, Gerry Adams MP" <info@sinnfein.org>, "Liam Aylward MEP" <laylward@europarl.eu.int>, "Dr Mark Clinton (Heritage Protection Alliance of Ireland Co-ordinator)" <norahbk@eircom.net>, "Macquarie Bank (PPP Financiers)" <info@macquarie.com.au>, "David Cameron MP (Leader of UK Opposition Party)" <camerond@parliament.uk>, "Rev Ian Paisley, Democratic Unionist Party" <info@dup.org.uk>, "Labour Party Leader, Eamon Gilmore" <eamon.gilmore@oireachtas.ie>, "Marie Murray (Senior Psychologist & Irish Times Columnist)" <mmurray@irish-times.ie>, "Irish Examiner Newspaper" <jill.osullivan@tcm.ie>, "The Law Society of England and Wales" <info@lawsociety.org.uk>, "Majella Mc Carron (Shell to Sea)" <majella_mccarron@yahoo.co.uk>, "Eamon Ryan TD (Minister for Communications, Energy and Natural Resources" <eamon.ryan@oireachtas.ie>, "Suzon Forscey-Moore" <suzonfm@aol.com>, "Sky News" <news@sky.com>, "Geraldine Kennedy, Irish Times Editor" <gkennedy@irish-times.ie>, "Julitta Clancy" <julitta1@hotmail.com>, "Charlie Bird (RTE Chief News Correspondent)" <charlie.bird@rte.ie>, "Nelson Mandela" <nmf@nelsonmandela.org>, "Former President Mary Robinson (Ethical Globalization Initiative)" <info@eginitiative.org>, "RTE (Republic of Ireland's National TV Station)" <newsdesk@rte.ie>, "Dr Joseph E. Stiglitz (Economist)" <jes322@columbia.edu>, "Ciara Macklin (Lawyer, Fair & Murtagh)" <ciaramacklin@fair-murtagh.ie>, "Meirion Bowen" <meirionbowen@btopenworld.com>, "Ashley Mote (Independent MEP for South East England Region)" <ashley.mote@btconnect.com>, "President of the Council of the European Union (Mr Andrej Vizjak)" <press.office@consilium.europa.eu>, "Irish Embassy - London" <christina.mccormack@dfa.ie>, "Joe Duffy (RTE Broadcaster)" <joe@rte.ie>, "Commissioner for Human Rights of the Council of Europe (Thomas Hammarberg)" <commissioner.humanrights@coe.int>, "Gearoid Geraghty (Lawyer, Fair & Murtagh, Ballinasloe)" <gearoidgeraghty@fair-murtagh.ie>, "Jim Allister MEP" <jimallister@dup.org.uk>, Campaign@democracydefined.org, "Liam Cashman (Environmental Directorate, The European Commission)" <Liam-Joseph.Cashman@ec.europa.eu>, "Minister Trevor Sargent TD (Green Party)" <Trevor.Sargent@oireachtas.ie>, "Venice Commission (Council of Europe)" <venice@coe.int>, MhjnAshok2@aol.com, "Youth for Human Rights" <info@youthforhumanrights.org>, "The Irish Council for Civil Liberties (ICCL)" <info@iccl.ie>, "Amnesty International UK" <press@amnesty.org.uk>, "President George W. Bush" <president@whitehouse.gov>, "Louise Arbour (UN High Commissioner for Human Rights)" <ngochr@ohchr.org>, "Ban Ki-moon (Secretary-General of the United Nations)" <public.participation@unece.org>, "Spirit of Vercingetorix (Ireland)" <vercingetorixireland@yahoo.ie>, "Spirit of King Ollamh Fodhla (Tara)" <ollamhfodhla@yahoo.co.uk>
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: multipart/alternative; boundary="0-543899570-1205754177=:94163"
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 8bit
Message-ID: <133158.94163.qm@web27012.mail.ukl.yahoo.com>
Content-Length: 5783

"But later on the Penal Laws changed all that, and turned the Irish natural love of justice into hatred and distrust of law, which in many ways continues to manifest itself to this day."
 
================================
 
Present hatred and distrust of law
by Brehon Sun Mar 16, 2008 22:51
 
It was the same at the most ancient period as it was in the beginning of the seventeenth century, when Sir John Davies--an Englishman--the Irish attorney-general of James I., testified:--"For there is no nation of people under the sunne that doth love equall and indifferent [i.e. impartial] justice better then the Irish; or will rest better satisfied with the execution thereof, although it bee against themselves: so as they may have the protection and benefit of the law, when uppon just cause they do desire it." But later on the Penal Laws changed all that, and turned the Irish natural love of justice into hatred and distrust of law, which in many ways continues to manifest itself to this day. 
 
Related Link: http://www.libraryireland.com/SocialHistoryAncientIreland/I-IV-1.php    
 
================================
 
The above text has been copied from the following Indymedia (Ireland) location:
http://www.indymedia.ie/article/86545#comment223277 
 
===========================
 
The Spirit of King Ollamh Fodhla (Great Banqueting Hall, Hill of Tara):

http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&q=King+Ollamh+Fodhla+(Great+Banqueting+Hall,+Hill+of+Tara)&btnG=Search 
 
Tiny URL Equivalent Address: http://tinyurl.com/2atgou 
 
====================
 
http://www.humanrightsireland.com 
 
================
 
For future reference purposes a copy of this e-mail will later today be placed at the following address:
http://www.humanrightsireland.com/SaintPatricksDay2008/Email.htm 
 
===========
 
 


Rise to the challenge for Sport Relief with Yahoo! for Good


 

                                           End of e-mail text
 

  Media informed 

 

Home Page

 

 

AltaVista        TRANSLATIONS        AltaVista  

     | Traductions | ‹bersetzungen | Traduzioni | TraduÁűes | Traducciones |
| переводы | 翻訳  |  번역  |  
翻译 | Μεταφράσεις
|

 
   
     
  Please click on one of the National Flags to the left for translation into any of the languages represented.

For the full LIST of language translation facilities available please click on:
http://babelfish.altavista.com/

 
     
 
 

 

Home Page